Hers – Columbia Reservation

 

IMG_20170319_123412176_HDR

Another week, another cold hike. That’s what it was feeling like last Sunday when I woke up. I know, I know. I’ve been complaining about the weather a lot. But it’s nearly the end of March, and I’m completely desperate for spring. It doesn’t even have to be warm, I’ll just take a glimpse of sunshine at this point. We had a pretty big snow storm earlier this past week, and it seems like every day since has been gray and gloomy and cold. Sunday was no exception.

My energy level was way down, and as soon as we got into the car to head out to the park, I couldn’t wait to get back home in sweats to just lay on the couch. We drove 25 minutes west to Columbia Station, Ohio. The drive out helped lift my mood a little as we got out of the city and into some more rural surroundings.

Once we got to the reservation and out of the car, I realized I didn’t dress nearly warm enough. Definitely should’ve doubled up on the pants and socks. It was going to be a chillier walk than I anticipated, and I let Casey know that it was probably going to be a fairly quick one.

IMG_20170319_124829927

We set off on a paved path and into the soggy gray mist. Columbia Reservation is a wetland reservation, so the path weaves around several ponds and marshes and into dense woods. It was a gray, misty morning complete with fog that hung low. A co-worker of mine calls it “history weather.” It’s the kind of weather you imagine during Civil War battles early in the morning.

But as we kept walking, the “history weather” turned straight up creepy. There wasn’t a soul in sight. The fog made it difficult to see through the trees and the ponds were completely still. The trees themselves were barren and blackened with boney, crooked branches. The only sound was that of crows cawing overhead. It was eerie. This was Edgar Allen Poe weather!

Casey and I both commented on the creepiness of it all. We were walking hand in hand when he abruptly stopped and stared at the ground. He went to reach for his phone when I finally saw what he was staring at. A dead mouse. Smack dab in the middle of the trail. It didn’t look like anything had gotten to it. It was just straight up frozen. I took off in a hurry, while Casey was still trying to dig out his phone. I knew he was going to take a picture, and I literally scolded him to do nothing of the sort. I told him that’s where I draw the line with this blog. (You’re welcome.)

We kept walking, and our imaginations started to run wild. Casey went down the route of vagabonds and sasquatches. I went straight to ax murderers that dump dead bodies in the pond. We made a few jokes about it, but I think it creeped us both out a little bit so we picked up the pace (I was also REALLY cold).

IMG_20170319_130104790_HDR

It was an easy trail loop around the main pond and back to the car (thanks to Casey’s keen sense of direction or else I would’ve been going in circles through the forest). While I’m glad we got out for this hike, I have to say my favorite part was driving out to a new area and seeing a new town, not so much the park itself. I’m really hoping this was our final sendoff to the winter season. I promise guys, once it starts getting sunny and warmer you won’t have to read about me complaining about the weather…until it gets too hot. Kidding! 😀

Leave a Reply

